CIS Asset Management

Structured Credit Investments

“We don't just scratch the surface; we are going into the depth for you.”
CIS Asset Management is an asset management boutique in the area of structured credit products and is characterized in particular by its deep proprietary analysis.
>> DIG DEEPER

Organization

CIS Asset Management (Deutschland) GmbH is specialised in the management of illiquid credit products and the selection of total return strategies. The company employs a team of highly motivated individuals with exceptional qualifications. The team constantly challenges the status quo to discover new investment opportunities. The company actively monitors the performance of its investment portfolios, which include complex liquid and illiquid strategies. The company makes independent and transparent investment decisions based on thorough, objective analyses.
CIS Asset Management (Deutschland) GmbH is granted by the regulatory agency BaFin the following permissions (www.bafin.de):

• Permission for contract broking granted on 19.11.2008 
(Sec.1 Para. 1a sentence 2 No. 2 KWG)
• Admission for investment advisory granted on 19.11.2008 (Sec. 1 Para. 1a sentence 2 No. 1a KWG)
• Admission for investment brokering granted on 01.11.2007 (Sec. 1 Para. 1a sentence 2 No. 1 KWG)

• Admission for financial portfolio management granted on 01.06.2010 (Sec. 1 Para. 1a sentence 2 No. 3 KWG)
• Admission for proprietary transactions granted on 03.09.2012 (Sec. 32 Para. 1a KWG)

CIS Asset Management is a member of EdW - Entschädigungseinrichtung der Wertpapierhandelsunternehmen (www.e-d-w.de).
CIS Asset Management (Deutschland) GmbH was founded as a corporation (corp. / AG) in Frankfurt in June 2007 and rebranded as a limited liability company (LLC / GmbH) in 2010. The company moved its headquarters to Eschborn in July 2012 and has currently around 10 employees.

Track Record

CIS Asset Management manages credit investments since its foundation in July 2007. It holds positions which are predominantly in equity tranches of CLOs (Collateralized Loan Obligations), which themselves are collateralized mainly by first-lien senior secured levered loans. The track record is calculated on the basis of positions held, using the purchase and liquidation values accordingly. These investments were selected by our proprietary and highly advanced selection process. The cumulative gross return between 2007 and 2020 Q3 accounts for 401.96% (11.65% p.a.).
CIS Track Record of CLO 1.0 (30.06.2007 - 28.02.2019)
CLO 1.0 = CLOs issued before the Great Financial Crisis (until 2010).
CIS TRACK RECORD OF CLO 2.0 (31.03.2019 – 31.03.2021)
CLO 2.0 = CLOs issued after the Great Financial Crisis (after 2010).
Positive results are no guarantee for future performance. The underlying assets are volatile and investments may suffer losses or the loss of all capital invested.

Research

At CIS, we are very research-focused and attach great importance to our own analysis and data base. Our approach dates back to 1999. We learned that only conscious dealing with risks of any kind - especially in the credit sector - requires a high degree of monitoring, reassessment as well as a clearly defined risk management process.
Different levels of analysis are done prior to any investment. We are continuously revising our proprietary tools in order to adjust to the current market conditions as well developing new Alpha indices. Hence, it has to be mentioned that the following diagram just depicts a snapshot of our analyses.
PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT MODEL
The Portfolio Management Model is the internal master tool for CIS, as it combines the features of all other below described analysis models. Its purpose is to control and monitor special key indicators of a portfolio as well as to enable us structuring and ramping-up new portfolios.
With the Portfolio Management Model, one can validate for instance the effect of a new investment on the overall portfolio level.
It also serves as a risk management tool on a portfolio basis in order to be able to model various scenarios. Further, this tool is used to prepare different investor-specific reports.
EVALUATION MODEL
PEER GROUP ANALYSIS
With the help of the Evaluation Model one can model a CLO with all its subtleties, such as the cost and fee structure as well as the various concentration limits under ceteris paribus assumptions.
The model is used to forecast future cash flows and to determine their sustainability.
Both market data and various manager-specific Alpha indicators serve as input indicators.
The Peer Group Analysis makes it possible to compare the various Manager Signatures or their Alpha components (risk and performance indicators) both against market data and against each other, manager against manager and with other internally defined universes.
It is possible to set a weighting for individual indicators, depending on individual preferences, and to derive an internal ranking accordingly.
MANAGER SIGNATURE
One proprietary analysis tool is called Manager Signature, in which different Alpha indicators (both risk and performance indicators) are analysed on a monthly basis.
The cleaned data from the monthly trustee reports serve as input data (please see Proprietary Data Base).
CIS maintains of each evaluated manager on average 4 to 6 of those Manager Signatures with a minimum history of 60 months. The manager-specific indicators can often be traced back to the period prior the Great Financial Crisis.
The purpose of the Manager Signatures is to quantitatively process and understand the behaviour of a CLO manager or his team over the maximum period of time.
PROPRIETARY DATA BASE
The CIS Proprietary Data Base forms the core of each of our analyses. On the one hand, it includes the raw data from monthly trustee reports, the usually quarterly available payment reports (Note Valuation Reports) and, on the other hand, indenture and offering memorandum of each CLO.
For the later analysis, raw data is elaborately cleaned up in various steps and brought into a uniform format. As raw data are often error-prone, they are always checked for plausibility, mathematical logic and completeness, partly automatically but also manually.

Products

CLO Alpha I S.A. – Compartment Taunus
CLO Alpha I S.A. is a securitization company established in Luxembourg, unregulated and not available for public distribution. Compartment Taunus is intended for institutional clients with credit experience. Compartment Taunus invests in junior CLO tranches and may be purchased with a minimum of $250.000.
Segregated Managed Account
Every institutional investor who wants to invest via a segregated account is welcome. We are able to ramp up, take over and liquidate portfolios from CLO AAA to CLO equity tranches.
More information

Services

Portfolio Management
This combines all services into one product. We offer portfolio management of CLO portfolios from the AAA to the CLO equity tranche. Our fees are scaled taking complexity, size as well as number of positions into account. For investment grade rated tranches (without combo notes) our fees are competitive and need not to be adjusted in case of tightening spreads. To invest successfully in sub-investment grade CLO tranches or in the unrated CLO equity tranche, a higher effort is required to analyse the Alpha components. This is mirrored by higher fees.
Portfolio Liquidation
We also offer this service at a fixed price subject to not managing the portfolio but just advising on the liquidation. If we are actively involved, we charge a transaction fee per sold position.
Take-over of a Portfolio
Subject to complexity (monitoring) we will charge a flat fee for the portion of the old portfolio, a transaction fee for transactions and, if we are mandated to continue constructing the portfolio, a portfolio management fee for this part of the portfolio.
Please refer to the following website for further services provided by the CIS-Group.
cisholding.ch

News

  • CIS im Private Banking Magazin: Die Vorteile von CLOs als Investition im Niedrigzinsumfeld

    Niedrige Zinsen und die Erwartung in eine steigende Inflatione zeichnen derzeit den Markt aus. CLOs, also besicherten Darlehensverpflichtung können [...]
  • CIS IN CREDITFLUX: European CLOs - Tight spreads are increasing demand for CLO equity, so deals are oversubscribed

    Bartsch says that, historically, CLOs that priced in tight-spread [...]
  • CIS IN CITYWIRE: PAAVO BARTSCH, CIS ASSET MANAGEMENT

    Ein niedriger Ölpreis fungiert als Entlastung für Verbraucher, das macht sich auch bei unseren Investitionen bemerkbar. CIS ist seit 2007 am Markt und investiert hauptsächlich in CLO Equity. Wir achten auf eine hohe Diversifikation im zugrundeliegenden Loan-Portfolio mit […]
  • CIS NEWSLETTER – APRIL 2021

    Public health measures, a new stimulus package in the US and vaccine rollout should continue to support the economy for the first half of 2021. Renewed Japanese interest should keep the momentum on the CLO participants. There is currently high demand for newer CLOs with cleaner and higher spread asset portfolios compared to seasoned deals. Additionally, investors’ [...]
  • CIS NEWSLETTER – MARCH 2021

    With relief packages and high-efficacy vaccines becoming more accessible every month, the outlook for the rest of 2021 in credit markets looks positive. Regarding CLOs, new issuance has grown momentum
    and median spreads on CLO notes have been tighter. As CLO liability spreads return to pre-COVID levels, the term curve of new issue AAA to shorter [...]
  • CIS IN CREDITFLUX: MOVING FAST PAYS OFF FOR HEDGE FUNDS

    CLO Alpha Compartment Taunus, a CLO fund managed by CIS Asset Management, took second spot in our rankings with 21.80% returns. The firm focuses on niche CLO equity with an emphasis on US CLOs. Inès Bartsch, owner and [...]
Webdesign Sundern f5.design
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram

CIS Asset Management

Strukturierte Kreditprodukte

„Wir kratzen nicht nur an der Oberfläche, wir gehen für Sie in die Tiefe“.
CIS Asset Management ist eine Asset Management Boutique im Bereich strukturierter Kreditprodukte und zeichnet sich insbesondere durch die tiefe proprietäre Analyse aus.
>> TIEFER GRABEN

Unternehmen

CIS Asset Management (Deutschland) GmbH ist auf das aktive Management von illiquiden Kreditprodukten spezialisiert. Das Familienunternehmen verfügt im Bereich der alternativen Investitionen mit einem Team von Experten über eine hohe Reputation am Markt. Mit der langjährigen Erfahrung der Teammitglieder in der Begleitung von Strukturierungen, der Analyse und dem Monitoring von komplexen illiquiden Strategien schlägt der Vermögensverwalter neue Wege ein. Wert gelegt wird dabei auf die Unabhängigkeit der Investitionsentscheidungen und auf die Transparenz der Investitionsprodukte.
Die CIS Asset Management (Deutschland) GmbH besitzt die folgenden, durch die Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin) erteilten, Erlaubnisse (www.bafin.de):

•Erlaubnis zur Abschlussvermittlung erteilt am 19.11.2008 
(§ 1 Abs.1a Satz 2 Nr.2 KWG)
• Erlaubnis zur Anlageberatung erteilt am 01.11.2007 (§ 1 Abs.1a Satz 2 Nr.1a KWG)
• Erlaubnis zur Anlagevermittlung erteilt am 19.11.2008 (§ 1 Abs.1a Satz 2 Nr.1 KWG)

• Erlaubnis zur Finanzportfolioverwaltung erteilt am 01.06.2010 (§ 1 Abs.1a Satz 2 Nr.3 KWG)
• Erlaubnis zum Abschluss von Eigengeschäften erteilt am 03.09.2012 (§ 32 Abs.1a KWG)

CIS Asset Management (Deutschland) GmbH ist der Entschädigungseinrichtung der Wertpapierhandelsunternehmen (EdW) zugeordnet (www.e-d-w.de).
CIS Asset Management (Deutschland) GmbH wurde im Juni 2007 als Aktiengesellschaft in Frankfurt am Main gegründet und im März 2010 in eine GmbH umfirmiert. Die Firma verlegte ihren Sitz im Juli 2012 nach Eschborn und beschäftigt circa 10 Mitarbeiter.

Track Record

CIS Asset Management führt seit der Gründung im Jahr 2007 Kreditinvestitionen durch. Die gehaltenen Positionen des Vermögensverwalters sind vorwiegend Equity-Tranchen von CLOs (Collateralized Loan Obligations), die wiederum selbst überwiegend durch erstranging besicherte Unternehmenskredite abgesichert sind. Der Berechnung des Track Records wird die Wertentwicklung der gehaltenen Positionen zu Grunde gelegt, die auf Zukäufen und Liquidationserlösen basiert. Die Investitionen erfolgen auf Grund eines firmeneigenen, hoch entwickelten Auswahlprozesses. Der kumulative Ertrag (brutto) für die Zeit von 2007 bis 2020 Q3 beläuft sich auf 401,96% (11,65% p.a.).
CIS Track Record von CLO 1.0 (30.06.2007 – 28.02.2019)
CLO 1.0 = CLOs, die vor der Weltfinanzkrise (bis 2010) emittiert worden sind.
CIS Track Record von CLO 2.0 (31.03.2019 – 31.01.2021)
CLO 2.0 = CLOs, die nach der Weltfinanzkrise (nach 2010) emittiert worden sind.
Positive Ergebnisse der Vergangenheit sind keine Garantie für zukünftige Performance. Die zu Grunde liegenden Vermögenswerte sind volatil und Anlagen können Verluste bis hin zum Verlust aller Investitionen erleiden.

Research

Wir bei CIS sind sehr Research fokussiert und legen einen großen Wert auf unsere eigene Analyse- und Datenbank. Diesen Ansatz leben wir als Familienunternehmen bereits seit 1999. Wir haben gelernt, dass nur der bewusste Umgang mit Risiken jeder Art, speziell im Kreditgeschäft, zum gewünschten Ziel führt. Ausnahmslos wird ein hohes Maß an Aufarbeitung, Überwachung und ein klar definiertes Risikomanagement benötigt.
Vor jeder Investition werden umfangreiche Analysen durchgeführt. Wir überarbeiten ständig unsere firmeneigenen Tools, um diese an die aktuellen Marktbedingungen anzupassen und neue Alpha-Indikatoren zu entwickeln. Daher muss erwähnt werden, dass das folgende Diagramm nur eine Momentaufnahme unserer Analysen darstellt.
PORTFOLIOMANAGEMENT MODELL
Das Portfoliomanagement Modell dient zur Kontrolle, Überwachung und zum Aufsetzen / Strukturieren eines Portfolios.
Als Inputdaten dienen die Auswertungen aus den unterschiedlichen Analysen der Managersignaturen, des Bewertungsmodells sowie der Vergleichsgruppenanalyse.
Mit dem Portfoliomanagement Modell kann man z. B. den Effekt einer Neuinvestition auf Gesamtportfolioebene simulieren. Des Weiteren dient es auf Portfoliobasis auch als Risikomanagementtool, um diverse Szenarien modellieren zu können. Dieses Modell wird ebenfalls verwendet, um unterschiedliche, z. B. investorenspezifische Reports zu erstellen.
BEWERTUNGSMODELL
VERGLEICHSGRUPPENANALYSE
Mit Hilfe des Bewertungsmodells kann man einen CLO mit dessen ganzen Feinheiten, wie z. B. Kosten- und Gebührenstruktur sowie den diversen Konzentrationsgrenzen, unter der ceteris paribus Annahme nachmodellieren.
Das Modell dient dazu, die zukünftigen Zahlungsströme prognostizieren zu können sowie deren Nachhaltigkeit festzustellen.
Als Inputindikatoren dienen sowohl Marktdaten als auch verschiedene managerspezifische Alpha-Indikatoren.
Die Vergleichsgruppenanalyse ermöglicht es, die diversen Managersignaturen bzw. deren Alpha-Komponenten (Risiko- und Performanceindikatoren) sowohl mit Marktdaten als auch untereinander, Manager gegen Manager sowie mit weiteren intern definierten Universen zu vergleichen.
Es ist möglich, eine Gewichtung, je nach Präferenz, für einzelne Indikatoren festzulegen und hierauf basierend, ein internes Ranking abzuleiten.
MANAGERSIGNATUR
Als Managersignatur wird ein firmeninternes Analysetool bezeichnet, in dem auf monatlicher Basis unterschiedliche Alpha-Indikatoren (sowohl Risiko- als auch Performanceindikatoren) analysiert werden.
Als Inputdaten dienen die bereinigten Daten aus den monatlichen Depotbankauszügen (vgl. Firmeneigene Datenbank).
Von jedem bewerteten Manager existieren durchschnittlich 4 bis 6 solcher Managersignaturen mit einer Mindesthistorie von 60 Monaten. Oftmals können die managerspezifischen Indikatoren bis in den Zeitraum vor die Weltfinanzkrise zurückverfolgt werden.
Der Zweck dieser sogenannten Managersignaturen ist, das Verhalten eines Managers bzw. seines Teams über den maximalen Zeitraum quantitativ aufarbeiten und nachvollziehen zu können.
FIRMENEIGENE DATENBANK
Die CIS Datenbank bildet das Kernstück jeder unserer Analysen. Sie umfasst einerseits die Rohdaten aus den monatlichen Depotbankauszügen, die i.d.R. vierteljährlichen Zahlungsauszüge (Note Valuation Reports) sowie andererseits die Vertragswerke (engl. Indenture und Offering Memorandum) eines jeden CLOs.
Zur späteren Analyse werden die Rohdaten in verschiedenen Schritten aufwendig bereinigt und in ein einheitliches Format gebracht. Da die Rohdaten oftmals fehlerbehaftet sind, werden die Daten immer auf ihre Plausibilität, mathematische Logik und Vollständigkeit, teils automatisiert sowie manuell, geprüft. 

Produkte

CLO Alpha I S.A. – Kompartiment Taunus
CLO Alpha I S.A. ist eine nach Luxemburger Recht gegründete Verbriefungsgesellschaft, die nicht reguliert und nicht für den öffentlichen Vertrieb zugelassen ist.
Kompartiment Taunus richtet sich an professionelle Kunden mit Erfahrung im Kreditbereich. Das Produkt investiert in Junior CLO-Tranchen und kann mit einem Mindestbetrag von $250.000,00 erworben werden.
Spezialfonds
Jeder institutionelle Investor, der sein Vermögen in Spezialfonds anlegt, ist uns als Kunde willkommen. Wir sind in der Lage Portfolios von der AAA-Tranche bis zur Anschubfinanzierung (Equity) aufzubauen, zu übernehmen, weiter zu führen sowie zu liquidieren.
Mehr Informationen

Dienstleistungen

Portfoliomanagement
Hier bündeln sich alle von uns angebotenen Dienstleistungen in einem Produkt. Wir bieten das Portfoliomanagement im Aufbau von Portfolios im CLO-Bereich von der AAA-Tranche bis zur Anschubfinanzierung an. Unsere Gebühren staffeln sich nach Komplexität, Größe des Portfolios sowie Anzahl der Positionen. Für AAA- bis BBB-Tranchen (ohne Combo Notes) sind unsere Gebühren kompetitiv und müssen auch im Falle einer signifikanten Risikoprämienkontraktion nicht angepasst werden. Für Sub-Investment Grade sowie für die nicht geratete Tranche ist ein weit höherer Aufwand notwendig, um erfolgreich zu investieren. Dies spiegelt sich entsprechend in höheren Gebühren wider.
Portfolioabbau
Sollten wir ein Portfolio übernehmen, ohne das Portfolio zu managen, sondern lediglich den Abbau begleiten, bieten wir diese Dienstleistung zu einem festen Preis an. Sollten wir den Abbau aktiv begleiten, fällt pro Verkauf eine Transaktionsgebühr an.
PortfolioübernahmE
Je nach Komplexität des Portfolios werden wir für den übernommenen Teil eine feste Gebühr berechnen; Transaktionen werden gesondert mit einer Transaktionsgebühr abgerechnet. Sollte das Portfolio weiter aufgebaut werden, fällt für diesen Teil die normale Portfoliomanagement Gebühr an.
Mehr Informationen

News

  • CIS in Creditflux: Moving Fast Pays off for Hedge Funds

    CLO Alpha Compartment Taunus, a CLO fund managed by CIS Asset Management, took second spot in our rankings with 21.80% returns. The firm focuses on niche CLO equity with an emphasis on US CLOs. Inès Bartsch, owner and portfolio manager, says the majority of capital raised for the strategy […]
  • CIS in Citywire: Paavo Bartsch, CIS Asset Management

    Ein niedriger Ölpreis fungiert als Entlastung für Verbraucher, das macht sich auch bei unseren Investitionen bemerkbar. CIS ist seit 2007 am Markt und investiert hauptsächlich in CLO Equity. Wir achten auf eine hohe Diversifikation im zugrundeliegenden Loan-Portfolio mit […]
  • CIS NEWSLETTER – FEBRUARY 2021

    The widespread distribution of the COVID-19 vaccine and further fiscal stimulus will be crucial to boost loan demand. The credit-tightening cycle will likely be shorter compared to the one following the 2008 crisis. CLO AAA note spread for new issue CLOs is tighter than the levels in early 2020 - before the pandemic. This reflects strong investor demand for […]
  • CIS NEWSLETTER – JANUARY 2021

    CLO spreads remain quite attractive on a risk-adjusted basis relative to other credit markets. Senior CLO note spreads should be the first to benefit from the liquidity in the markets, but subsequently the credit curve should flatten as high-yield funds target the bottom of the capital structure. The drop in liability costs should help the arbitrage to improve further and […]
Webdesign Sundern f5.design
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram